Valley Sports Report for Penn York Valley



Valley Sports Report
THE VALLEY — Waverly junior Sheridan Talada made her first trip to States and earned the distinction of 2018 Valley Sports Report girls cross country “Runner of the Year.”

Talada, who won the Tom Koons Valley Invite, finished 22nd at the IAC Championships, then finished seventh at the Section IV Championships to qualify for States, where she finished 78th.

Talada finished eighth at the Owego Invitational, 11th at both the Marathon and McDaniel-Baxter Invites, 20th at prestigious McQuaid Invitational, and 21st at the Bob Greene Invitational.

This year’s “Super 7” is dominated by Waverly with five runners on the list, including four underclassmen.

Waverly’s Scott Baird repeats as Valley Sports Report “Coach of the Year” for his efforts with the state-ranked Lady Wolverines, and the Waverly boys.

The Lady Wolverines finished the dual season unbeaten, won the IAC Large School Divisional match, and finished third at the IAC Championships. They finished the season ranked 10th in the Class C state rankings.

The Waverly girls won the Tom Koons Valley Invite and the Windsor Invitational, won the Small School titles at the McDaniel-Baxter and Owego Invites, and finished second at the prestigious McQuaid Invitational.

The Waverly boys were state-ranked for part of the season. They won the Tom Koons Valley Invite, and won Small School title at the Owego Invitational, finished second at the Windsor Invite, and finished third at the IAC Large School divisional meet and at the IAC Championships.

The remainder of the Girls Cross Country Super 7 is as follows:

Olivia Nittinger, freshman, Waverly: A repeat performer in the “Super 7” for the state-ranked Lady Wolverines, Nittinger finished ninth at the Section IV Championships, and narrowly missed a trip to States.

Nittinger, who was sixth at the IAC Championships, was 12th at the at McDaniel-Baxter Invite, 14th at Marathon and Owego Invitationals, 25th at Bob Greene Invitational, and 37th at the prestigious McQuaid Invite.

Sophie Adams, senior, Athens: The lone Lady Wildcat on the Super 7, Adams finished fourth at the Koons Valley Invite.

Adams finished 19th at the McDaniel-Baxter Invite, 27th at the Owego Invitational, 51st at the McQuaid Invitational, and 53rd at the Bob Greene Invitational.

Paige Ackley, junior, Waverly: A repeat performer in the “Super 7,” Ackley finished fifth at the Koons Valley Invite, 10th at the IAC Championships, and 12th at the Section IV meet.

Ackley finished 13th at McDaniel-Baxter and Bob Greene Invitationals, 23rd at the Owego Invite, 30th at the Marathon Invitational, and 33rd at the rugged McQuaid Invitational.

Elizabeth Fritzen, junior, Waverly: Fritzen had several finishes in the top-three for the Lady Wolverines, including a second-place finish at the Koons Valley Invite, and a third-place finish at the Windsor Invitational.

Fritzen finished ninth at the McDaniel-Baxter Invitational, 13th at Owego, 45th at the rugged McQuaid Invitational, 49th at the Marathon Invitational, and 67th at the Bob Greene Invitational. She also finished 28th at the IAC Championships, and 16th at the Section IV meet.

Kayla Hughey, sophomore, Sayre: Hughey consistently led the Lady Redskins in dual meets this season and finished seventh in the Koons Valley Invite.

Hughey finished 12th at the District 4, Class A Championships, missing the final state spot by less than 30 seconds. She also finished 14th at the NTL Coaches Invite.

Brandi Welch, senior, Waverly:
Last year’s “Runner of the Year,” Welch finished sixth at the Koons Valley Invite, 29th at the IAC Championships, and 21st at the Section IV Championships.

Welch finished 28th at the McDaniel-Baxter Invitational, 53rd at the Owego Invite, 60th at the Marathon Invitational, and 76th at the Bob Greene Invite.


IN PHOTO: Waverly’s Sheridan Talada.



"Runner of the Year"
2017 — Brandi Welch, Waverly
2016 — Sidney Tomasso, Waverly
2015 — Sydney Beeman, Sayre
2014 — Kelsey Frank, Waverly
2013 — Kelsey Frank, Waverly
2012 — Katie Hurley, Sayre
2011 — Katie Hurley, Sayre
2010 — Hannah Robinson, Sayre
2009 — Hannah Robinson, Sayre

Print Friendly Version

You've asked about helping ...
here's your chance. Click HERE