Valley Sports Report for Penn York Valley


Valley Sports Report
THE VALLEY — Juniors Luke Arnold and Jesse Sumner formed a dynamic 1-2 punch for Athens this season, leading the Wildcats to the most successful season in program history, and earning the moniker of Valley Sports Report’s 2018 boys soccer “Co-Players of the Year.”

Athens junior David Scheftic repeats as “Defensive Player of the Year,” Waverly freshman Cameron McIsaac is the “Newcomer of the Year,” and longtime Athens mentor Jake Lezak is the “Coach of the Year” for the third consecutive year.

Arnold dominated the center of the field for the Wildcats this season, with great foot skills, a high soccer IQ, and one of the strongest legs east of the Mississippi, while Sumner brought speed, foot skills, soccer smarts, and an unmatched intensity to the pitch each match.

Arnold scored 24 goals and had 20 assists this season, while Sumner had 23 goals and 14 assists.

Scheftic, who was VSR’s top newcomer as a freshman, is a leader on the field — by example and vocally. He is ultra-athletic, with a very strong leg, and incredible ability in the air.

Scheftic finished the season with six goals, including two in the postseason, and one assist.

McIsaac was fearless in the net for a very young Wolverine team, using his quickness and instincts to make numerous acrobatic saves.

McIsaac faced an astounding 22 shots-on-goal per game this season, and averaged 17 saves per game. He also scored one goal during a brief stint on the offensive end of the field.

Lezak has directed the Wildcats to three consecutive District 4, Class AAA championships games. This year, Athens won its second D4 title in three years, and went on to win the program’s first-ever state playoff game.

In the last three years, Lezak’s Wildcats are 53-6-3.

The 2018 All-Valley boys soccer team:

Luke Arnold, junior, Athens:
See above.

Willey Tilley, senior, Athens: Speed, determination, and a strong leg made Tilley one of the most dangerous players in the area. He had 21 goals and 17 assists this season.

Mason Hughey, freshman, Sayre: The talented youngster made an immediate impact for the Redskins, and got better as the season progressed. He had six goals and three assists.

Rylan Laforest, junior, Waverly: Fast, tireless, and determined, Laforest was the only real scoring threat for the young Wolverines this season. He had 12 goals and two assists.

Jesse Sumner, junior, Athens:
See above.

Aaron Lane, junior, Athens: Lane had a habit of being in the right place at the right time, and used his quickness, accurate leg, and good vision to register a double-double in goals and assists this season. He had 15 goals and 11 assists.

Seth Lloyd, senior, Waverly: A team leader on a very young team, Lloyd was praised by his coach (Eric Ryck) as a coach and mentor on the field. He had one goal on the season.

Cody Vanbenthuysen, sophomore, Sayre: Wielding a sky-high soccer IQ, a strong leg, and deceptive speed, Vanbenthuysen scored eight goals and dished out three assists, despite missing several games due to an injury.

David Scheftic, junior, Athens:
See above.

Zach Trasco, senior, Athens: A consistent performer on the defensive end of the field for the Wildcats, Trasco used soccer smarts, good speed and physicality on a defense that allowed just 10 goals this season. He had two assists this season.

Doug Vosburg, junior, Athens: Fast, physical and relentless, Vosburg played the field from end to end. He had two goals and one assist.

Nic Bentley, sophomore, Sayre:
A steady presence on a young team, Bentley is a tireless defender, who transitioned into the offensive end seamlessly. He had three goals and three assists this season.

Joel Maslin, junior, Athens:
Very athletic with great instincts, Maslin and the Wildcat defense did not allow a goal in a league game this season. He allowed just three goals in the regular season, posting 15 shutouts, including one in the District 4 semifinals. Overall, Maslin allowed 10 goals in 21 games.


IN PHOTO: Athens’ Luke Arnold (left) and Jesse Sumner.


“Player of the Year”
2017 — Ethan Lane, Athens
2016 — Shane Colegrove, Athens
2015 — Ryan Segar, Athens
2014 — Ryan Segar, Athens
2013 —Seth Murrelle, Sayre
2012 — Seth Murrelle, Sayre
2011 — Seth Murrelle, Sayre
2010 — Taylor Skerpon, Sayre
2009 — Taylor Skerpon, Sayre

Print Friendly Version

You've asked about helping ...
here's your chance. Click HERE