Cayuga Health Simmons-RockwellTioga State Bank Dandy Mini Marts Valley Sports ReportGUTHRIE SPORTS MED Gannon Associates Williams Auto GroupTed Clark's Busy Market


Valley Sports Report
THE VALLEY — A speedy and versatile all-around player, senior Kennedy Westbrook led Waverly to the Section IV, Class B semifinals, and is the 2022 Valley Sports Report Girls Soccer “Player of the Year.

Athens junior Mya Thompson is the “Defensive Player of the Year,” while Athens senior Karlee Bartlow is the “Keeper of the Year,” and Athens freshman Kaitlyn Sutton is the 2022 “Newcomer of the Year.”

Waverly’s Tara Hogan is the VSR Soccer “Coach of the Year.

Westbrook, who will play at Division I New Jersey Institute of Technology in the fall, scored 17 goals and dished out eight assists, while providing defensive support for the Lady Wolverines.

Westbrook, who had 50 career goals, played sweeper the majority of the time this  season, but saw time on all three lines.

A fast, athletic, physical, and heady defender, Thompson was the anchor of the Wildcat defense. She had one assist on the season.

A good all-around athlete, Bartlow logged 1,382 minutes in net, registering 107 saves, two “clean sheets” (shutouts), and allowing 40 goals.

A key contributor early in the season, the speedy Sutton had a strong freshman year for the Lady Wildcats with nine goals and two assists.

Hogan directed the Lady Wolverines to a 13-2-1 record, and the Section IV, Class B semifinals. Waverly won the IAC South Large School Division title, as well as the overall IAC Large School title with a 1-0 win over Lansing.

Ally Thoman, senior, Athens:
Fast and physical with a penchant for getting in position to score, Thoman found the back of the net 18 times, and doled out six assists.

Lea VanAllen, junior, Waverly: A proven finisher with a strong leg, VanAllen scored 12 goals this season, including the 50th of her career, and had three assists.

Elyse Haney, junior, Tioga: Speedy, with good foot skills and a good head for the game, Haney had three goals on the season.

Kaitlyn Sutton, freshman, Athens: See above.

Kennedy Westbrook, senior, Waverly:
See above.

Addy Wheeler, sophomore, Athens: A heady and athletic player, Wheeler was at the heart of the Athens offense. She had three goals and eight assists.

Makenzie Olmsted, 8th-grader, Waverly: Possessing a high soccer IQ, and a non-stop motor, Olmsted had five assists this season, including one assist in each of her first three varsity games.

Lauren Gorsline, 8th-grader, Waverly: A speedy newcomer with a high soccer IQ, Gorsline scored two goals and dished out six assists, while playing on all three lines at one time or another this season.

Mya Thompson, junior, Athens:
See above.

Paige Robinson, junior, Waverly: A strong defender with good speed and physicality, Robinson was the anchor of a stingy Waverly defense.

Erica Bradley, sophomore, Tioga: A strong defender with a high soccer IQ, Bradley scored two goals this season.

Claire Clonch, freshman, Waverly: A strong and smart defender, Clonch finished the season as goal keeper after an injury to the starter.

Karlee Bartlow, senior, Athens:
See above.

Super 7 Top Newcomers
Kaitlyn Sutton, freshman, Athens:
See above.

Makenzie Olmsted, 8th-grader, Waverly:
See above.

Lauren Gorsline, 8th-grader, Waverly: See above.

Ava Smolinsky, freshman, Tioga: Fast and athletic, Smolinsky made an impact for the Lady Tigers in her first varsity season.

Raegen Foley, freshman, Tioga: A good all-around athlete, Foley will be one of the best keepers in the IAC over the next few years if she stays in between the pipes.

Ryleigh Judson, 8th-grader, Waverly: Fast and athletic, Judson was a solid contributor this season, and her role will grow in coming years.

Emily Zwierlein, freshman, Tioga: A physical and fearless defender, Zwierlein will be a big part of Tioga’s success in coming years.


IN PHOTO: Waverly’s Kennedy Westbrook.



2022 —  Kennedy Westbrook, Waverly
2021 —  Hannah Walker, Athens
2020 —  Gabby Picco, Waverly / Emma Roe, Athens
2019 —  Abby Sindoni, Athens
2018 —  Rachel Hutchison, Athens
2017 —  Rachel Hutchison, Athens
2016 —  Chloe Tracy, Sayre
2015 —  Chloe Tracy, Sayre
2014 —  Chloe Tracy, Sayre
2013 —  Kirsten Colegrove, Athens
2012 —  Kirsten Colegrove, Athens
2011 —  Liia Carpenter, Waverly
2010 —  Kirsten Colegrove, Athens
2009 —  Megan Kyc, Sayre

Print Friendly Version

You've asked about helping ...
here's your chance. Click HERE