Cayuga Health Simmons-RockwellTioga State Bank Dandy Mini Marts Valley Sports ReportGUTHRIE SPORTS MED Gannon Associates Williams Auto GroupTed Clark's Busy Market


Valley Sports Report
THE VALLEY — Junior Griff Schillmoeller led Waverly into the playoffs for the second consecutive season, and was among the leading goal-scorers in the region. He is the 2022 Valley Sports Report Boys Soccer “Player of the Year.”

Tioga junior Tyler Roe is the “Offensive Player of the Year,” and Tioga sophomore Jake Browne is the “Newcomer of the Year,” while Athens junior Alex Campbell is the “Defensive Player of the Year,” and Athens senior Grant Liechty is the “Keeper of the Year.”

Waverly’s Eric Ryck is the “Coach of the Year.”

Fast with a strong leg, and a nose for the ball, Schillmoeller scored a school-record 23 goals this season, and doled out five assists.

He now has a school-record 45 goals for his career.

Roe, a major offensive force, uses good speed and impressive foot skills to create scoring opportunities. He scored 22 goals, and dished out three assists in 2022.

A first-year soccer player, Browne’s athleticism turned him into an instant success in net for the Tigers. He had 124 saves this season, including 23 in one game.

Athletic, physical, and possessing a high soccer IQ, Campbell anchored the Wildcat defense. He had one assist on the season.

Long and athletic, Liechty posted three shutouts, and five games with just one goal allowed. He had 69 saves in 1,325 minutes of action.

Ryck took over the Waverly program prior to the 2018 season (there was no varsity team in 2017) and led the Wolverines into the postseason in back-to-back years for the first time in school history the last two seasons.

Waverly wrapped up this season with a 9-7 record — the second-most wins in program history.

Griff Schillmoeller, junior, Waverly:
See above.

Tyler Roe, junior, Tioga: See above.

Korey Miller, junior, Athens: A heady player with a knack for getting in position to score, Miller led the Wildcats with 13 goals, and was second on the team with six assists.

Charlie Larrabee, junior, Waverly:
Fast with good foot skills, Larrabee scored three goals and dished out three assists.

Brayden Post, senior, Athens: Athletic, with a high soccer IQ, Post could be counted on to be in the right place. He was second on the team with 11 goals, and had two assists.

Mitch Hamilton, junior, Athens: A skilled player, his defense and passing often flies under the radar. He had two goals and four assists on the season.

Alex Campbell, junior, Athens:
See above.

Sam Knight, junior, Waverly: Fast and smart, Knight rarely lost a battle in the defensive end.

Ethan Landmesser, junior, Tioga: A defensive standout, Landmesser had one assist on the season.

Dash Bishop, junior, Athens: A strong defender, Bishop was a key component in the Wildcat defense.

Grant Liechty, senior, Athens:
See above.

Super 7 Newcomers of 2022
Jake Browne, sophomore, Tioga:
See above.

Marco Quiros, sophomore, Athens:
A fiery player with good foot skills, Quiros made an impact in his first year with the Wildcats. He had six goals and one assist.

Peyton Robinson, freshman, Waverly: Athletic and physical with a non-stop motor, Robinson scored three goals and doled out three assists.

Ethan Gorsline, sophomore, Waverly: Gorsline has a knack for being in the right spot at the right time,  and capitalizes on his opportunities. He scored six goals and dished out three assists this season.

Brady Landmesser, freshman, Tioga: Landmesser made his presence felt on both ends of the field for the Tigers.

Aiden Doherty, freshman, Waverly: Doherty has good hands, and is a gritty presence on the field. He had 38 saves in net for the Wolverines.

Eli Benninger-Jones, sophomore, Athens:
Fast and athletic, Benninger-Jones will be a key piece for the Wildcats the next two years.


IN PHOTO: Waverly’s Griff Schillmoeller.



2022 — Griff Schillmoeller, Waverly
2021 — Only two varsity teams — no awards given.
2020-21 — Mason Hughey, Sayre
2019 — Luke Arnold, Athens
2018 — Luke Arnold and Jesse Sumner, Athens
2017 — Ethan Lane, Athens
2016 — Shane Colegrove, Athens
2015 — Ryan Segar, Athens
2014 — Ryan Segar, Athens
2013 — Seth Murrelle, Sayre
2012 — Seth Murrelle, Sayre
2011 — Seth Murrelle, Sayre
2010 — Taylor Skerpon, Sayre
2009 — Taylor Skerpon, Sayre

Print Friendly Version

You've asked about helping ...
here's your chance. Click HERE