Cayuga Health Simmons-RockwellTioga State Bank Dandy Mini Marts Valley Sports ReportGUTHRIE SPORTS MED Gannon Associates Williams Auto GroupI-R FCU


Valley Sports Report
THE VALLEY - Athens senior Evan Cooper was the NTL’s top golfer, and qualified for the PIAA Championships for the second year in a row. He repeats as the Valley Sports Report "Golfer of the Year."

Athens freshman Eli Hicks, who lost to Cooper in a playoff for the final berth at States at the District 4 Championships is the 2024 "Newcomer of the Year," and Waverly junior Breanne Robinson is the "Girls Golfer of the Year."

In the fall, Cooper led Athens to its second consecutive unbeaten season as the top golfer in the NTL with a scoring average of 79, including a low round of 74.

Cooper outdueled his teammate, freshman Eli Hicks, in a three-hole playoff to earn the second and final state berth from the District 4, Class 3A Championships.

Cooper shot a 78 on Day 1 of the PIAA Championships, and finished 65th with a two-day total of 162.

Hicks finished the regular season with the fourth-best scoring average in the NTL at 82.4.

He was the Day 1 leader at the District 4, Class 3A Championships before falling just shy of States after losing a three-hole playoff shootout against teammate Evan Cooper. He finished third.

Robinson, who was named a first-team Section IV all-star for the second year in a row, led the Wolverines with a scoring average of 46 for nine holes.

She finished 10th at the Section IV State Qualifier — just three strokes off the final qualifier for States.

2023-24 All-Valley Golf Super 7

Evan Cooper, senior, Athens: See above.

Evan Sickler, senior, Tioga: Sickler led the Tigers to a division title, averaging a plus-3.5 over nine holes. He also helped Tioga to its second Section IV title in program history.

Sickler shot a 79 on Day 2 of the Section IV Medalists Tournament to qualify for States, where he shot an 80 on Day 1.

Dylan Saxon, junior, Athens: Saxon finished third in the NTL with a scoring average of 82. He had a remarkably consistent season, with a low round of 76 and a high round 85.

Saxon finished fifth at the District 4 Championships.

Eli Hicks, freshman, Athens: See above.

Tyler Roe, senior, Tioga: Roe was a key figure in Tioga’s run to the program’s second-ever Section IV title with a plus-6 scoring average over nine holes on the season.

Roe qualified for the Section IV Medalist Tournament, and made the cut to advance to Day 2.

James Luther, junior, Tioga:
Luther finished the season strong, playing a big part in helping the Tiger to their second-ever Section IV title. He ended the season with plus-8 scoring average over nine holes.

Brady Darrow, junior, Athens:
Darrow and teammate, senior Nicholas Jacob, gave the unbeaten Wildcats unmatched depth in the NTL. His 89.78 scoring average was ninth-best in the NTL, and included a low round of 86.

Darrow finished eighth at District, Class 3A Championships.


"Golfer of the Year"
2023-24 - Evan Cooper, Athens
2022-23 — Evan Cooper, Athens
2021-22 — Kannon VanDuzer, Sayre
2020-21 — Kannon VanDuzer, Sayre
2019-20 — NONE.
2018-19 — Alex Tomasso, Waverly
2017-18 — Ryan Murrelle, Sayre
2016-17 — Sam Taylor, Tioga
2015-16 — Zach Sitzman, Athens
2014-15 — Ryan Murrelle, Sayre
2013-14 — Zach Sitzman, Athens
2012-13 — Zach Sitzman, Athens
2011-12 — Garrett Ulmer, Athens
2010-11 — Garrett Ulmer, Athens
2009-10 — Brian Kennedy, Athens

Print Friendly Version


You've asked about helping ...
here's your chance. Click HERE