Cayuga Health Simmons-RockwellTioga State Bank Dandy Mini Marts Valley Sports ReportGUTHRIE SPORTS MED Gannon Associates Williams Auto GroupI-R FCU


Valley Sports Report
THE VALLEY — Waverly senior Ralph Johnson had a historic run at this year’s New York State Track & Field Championships, winning three gold medals. He is the Valley Sports Report 2024 "Boys Track & Field Athlete of the Year."

Tioga sophomore Gavin Albrecht is the "Field Athlete of the Year," while Athens freshman Graham Wanck, and Waverly junior Xavier Watson share "Newcomer of the Year" honors, Waverly’s Dave Hogan is "Coach of the Year," and Waverly’s 4-x-1 is the "Relay of the Year."

Johnson, who was unbeaten during the regular season, won a STAC title in the 100-meter dash, then followed it up with first-place finishes in the 100 and 200 at the Section IV, Class C meet, and the State Qualifier.

After a false-start cost Johnson, who had the fastest time in the prelims, a shot at a gold medal at States in the 100, he won the NYSPHSAA and Federation (combined Division 1 and 2) gold medals in the 200.

Johnson ended the season with the school record in the 100 at 10.65 seconds, and in the 200 at 21.52 seconds.

Johnson earned his third gold medal in the 400-meter relay, teaming with Watson, senior Micah Chandler, and junior Kolsen Keathley.

The foursome was unbeaten until finishing second to Horseheads at the STAC Championships, and the State Qualifier.

At States, the foursome won Division 2 gold in a season-best time of 42.47 seconds, then earned a fourth-place medal in the Federation race in 43.13 seconds.

Aside from his role on the 400-meter relay team, Watson earned points for the Wolverines in the 100 and 200 during the regular season, but his best individual event was the high jump, where he had a season-best of 5-feet, 10-inches.

Watson finished 12th in the high jump at the STAC meet, was seventh at the Section IV, Class C Championships, and ninth at the State Qualifier.

Wanck finished second in 1,600 and in the 3,200 at the NTL Championships, and was on the fourth-place 3,200-meter relay team.

At the District 4, Class 3A Championships, Wanck finished third in the 3,200-meter run in a school-record time of 9:38.42 — eclipsing the previous mark by more than 19 seconds, and his previous-best time by more than 20 seconds. He missed out on States in 3A, but would have easily qualified in 2A.

Wanck was ninth in the 1,600 at Districts, and ran on the seventh-place 3,200 relay.

Albrecht topped out at 13-feet, 9-inches in the pole vault this season, and that was good enough to earn a trip to States.

Albrecht won the IAC title at 13-feet, 9-inches, and the Class C title at 13-feet, 6-inches. He finished fifth at the State Qualifier at 12-feet, 6-inches.

At States, Albrecht finished 13th in Division 2 at 13-feet.

For the second year in a row, Hogan advanced a large contingent to States. Johnson and Chandler each advanced in the 100 and 200, and were part of the 4-x-1 relay team.

The Wolverines brought home four medals this season — three gold, and a fourth-place medal.

The 2024 Boys Track & Field Super 7

Ralph Johnson, senior, Waverly: See above.

Micah Chandler, senior, Waverly: Chandler was a consistent points-winner for the Wolverines, winning the 100 or 200 when Johnson didn’t run, and finishing off an amazing 1-2 punch when he did.

Chandler qualified for States by hitting the Super Standard in the 100 and 200 during the regular season. Chandler won the 200 and finished second in the 100 at the STAC meet, and finished second in both the 100 and 200 at the Class C Championships.

Chandler, who tweaked his hamstring at the Class C meet, was fourth in the 100 at the State Qualifier, and 24th in the 200. At States, still battling a nagging hamstring, he finished 16th in the 100, and scratched from the 200.

Marco Quiros, junior, Sayre: Last year’s top newcomer, Quiros was nearly unbeatable this season in the 100, 200, and 400.

After winning the 100, 200, and 400 sprints at the NTL Championships, Quiros won the 400, and placed fourth in the 200 at the District 4 Championships. He finished seventh in the 100.

At States, Quiros finished 18th in the 400, and 27th in the 200.

Andrew Earley, junior, Tioga: Earley consistently won points in three or four events for the Tigers this season.

Earley finish third in the 110-meter hurdles, fourth in the 400-meter hurdles, and seventh in the long jump at the IAC Championships.

He finished third in the 400-meter hurdles, and fourth in the 110-meter hurdles at the Class C Championships, and was fifth in the 110 hurdles, and sixth in the 400 hurdles at the State Qualifier.

Kolsen Keathley, junior, Waverly: Keathley was not only a key addition to the 400-meter relay that went on to win a state title, but provided a lot of points in the sprinting events for the Wolverines throughout the season.

Keathley placed fourth in the 200 at STAC, then finished fifth in the 200, and sixth in the 100 at the Class C Championships. He was fifth in the 200, and 19th in the 100 at the State Qualifier

Brenden Comstock, sophomore, Athens: The Wildcats leading point-winner in the field during the regular season, Comstock won an NTL title in the discus, and finished fourth in the shot put.

Comstock finished third in the discus at the District 4, Class 3A Championships, and was ninth in the shot put.

Kelley Reid, senior, Athens: Reid was a consistent point-winner for the Wildcats this season.

He finished second in the 100 and the 200 at the NTL Championships, and was on Athens’ winning 400-meter relay team.

Reid was third in the 200 and and eighth in the 100 at the District 4 meet. He also ran on the sixth-place 400-meter relay team.


All-Valley Super 7 Newcomers
Graham Wanck, freshman, Athens:
Xavier Watson, junior, Waverly:
Jase Babcock, junior, Athens:
Declan Barry, freshman, Sayre:
Thomas Morley, senior, Waverly:
Lucas Persun, freshman, Athens:
Brian Tang, sophomore, Athens:


"Boys Track & Field Athlete of Year"

2024 — Ralph Johnson, Waverly
2023 — Kayleb Bechy and Ralph Johnson, Waverly
2022 — Micah Chandler, Waverly
2021 — Asher Ellis, Athens
2020 — NONE
2019 — Isaac Chandler, Waverly
2018 — Isaac Chandler, Waverly
2017 — Kalen Keathley, Athens
2016 — Gage Lubertowicz, Tioga
2015 — Josh Mastrantuono, Waverly
2014 — Nick Sweet, Sayre
2013 — Ryan Kreykenbohm, Athens
2012 — Jeff Mastrantuono, Waverly
2011 — Jarred Gambrell, Athens
2010 — Jarred Gambrell, Athens

Print Friendly Version


You've asked about helping ...
here's your chance. Click HERE